A Joyful Noise

October 28, 2009

Door County, Wisconsin – Quiet and Still Beautiful

Filed under: Uncategorized — midsummersmusicfestival @ 2:25 am

Tuesday, October 27

I was driving through Sister Bay today and found myself surprised at the lack of traffic. Only two cars parked downtown and perhaps just one car heading the other direction. What a change from just a couple of weeks ago!

There is no need to be surprised, of course, because the main tourism season has ended here in Door County, Wisconsin. Many businesses have closed for the winter and others temporarily while the owners take a much deserved and needed vacation. But just because the season is officially over, it doesn’t mean the fall colors are. The brilliant gold leaves are absolutely striking. And I can’t even begin to describe the flaming red leaves on the burning bushes. Wow!

This time of the year is bittersweet for me. I love fall – it’s my favorite time of the year. And I know what’s around the corner. White stuff. Lots and lots of white stuff. Having said that I will add that I also love winter. It’s so quiet here in Door County that you can actually hear the snow falling! And talk about beauty after a snowfall. Winter is a peaceful time in the county although there are quite a few people who come up to cross-country ski or snowmobile, or just relax by a roaring fire.

For now, I’ll enjoy the fall colors while they last. I’m so thankful to live in such a wonderful place and grateful to be working with such a wonderful organization like Midsummer’s Music Festival. It doesn’t get much better than this!

Kathleen Pearson

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

